Both landlords and tenants should be able to solve many legal issues and problems without a lawyer, if they understand the basics of state law. This overview of the basic landlord-tenant laws in Texas will get you started. So, before you hire Austin movers and relocate, be sure that you make a good deal.
Required landlord disclosure in TexasUnder Texas law, landlords must reveal specific information to tenants (usually in a lease or lease agreement). For example, the identity of any person that will act on behalf of the landlord and tenant rights if the landlord cannot make the necessary repairs.
Texas deposit limit and refundTexas law does not limit the amount that a landlord may charge for a mortgage. However, it limits the time of its return (within 30 days after the tenant’s move) and establishes other restrictions on deposits.
The small lawsuit in TexasTenants can sue homeowners in court for the return of their deposit up to $ 10,000. Those who want to file a claim must familiarize themselves with the way to file a small claims lawsuit.
Late fees in Texas and other rental policiesState law governs several rent-related issues, including late payments and how long (three days in Texas) a tenant who has not paid the rent can stay in the house. Maybe the dilemma to buy or rent in Austin is not that big now.
Tenant rights to withhold rent in TexasTenants can withhold rent or exercise the right to “repair and retain” if the landlord does not take care of important repairs, such as a broken heater.
Texas termination and eviction rulesState laws determine when and how a landlord can terminate a lease. For example, a landlord may give a tenant from Texas who has not paid the rent, a notice of an unconditional waiver of the lease, which gives the tenant three days (a different time may be indicated in the lease) to leave before the landlord can apply for eviction.
Landlord access to a rental property, tenant protection against retaliation, and other state laws in TexasSeveral other landlord-tenant laws in Texas affect both property owners and tenants, including:
- protecting the tenant from the landlord’s retaliation for a tenant exercising a legal right, such as a complaint of unsafe living conditions (for details, see the laws of the state of Texas that prohibit retaliation to the landlord)
- special protection for tenants who are victims of domestic violence
- procedures for how landlords should handle abandoned property left by tenants, and
- fair housing rights (federal and, often, local law also prohibit discrimination).